I think I’m going to puke

imagesWe all know that feeling; a knot deep in your stomach. A little queasiness accompanied by shaking knees. The feeling you might loose your lunch all over the expensive, antique rug in your office. That’s how I felt yesterday as I sat staring at my computer screen.

A few weeks ago my go-to training partner and I began to talk about races for the rest of the season. I had already decided I wanted to spend the summer working on my cycling and building up my long ride (al la last weekend’s 50-miler). I had just signed up for the Providence Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon in September. My open water swims were routinely a mile at a time. We began to talk about the race she is training for Labor Day weekend.

Can you guess where this is going? After a few weeks of tossing the idea around in my brain and a conversation with the Coach, I decided to go for it. I sat down at my computer, pulled out the credit and USAT cards, filled out a form, and voila! Looking at the what I had just done, I felt like I was going to puke.

In 10 weeks I will be swimming 1.2 miles, biking 56 miles and then running 13.1 miles. I will be doing my first half-ironman.

Let the fun begin!

7 thoughts on “I think I’m going to puke

Leave a Reply

