A little spark of Crazy

about_sparks-1g23hdkMore than once I have been told that I have a “little spark of crazy”. This weekend Crazy came out to play.

Weekend plans called for a run on Saturday and a ride on Sunday. Given the crap-tastic riding weather of late and the perfect forecast for Saturday, I decided to change it up. The plan called for 35 miles, but Friday as I was starting to map out a route I ended up with a ride that was over 45. Sure, what’s a 10 measly extra miles? Sounds like fun!

I headed out Saturday morning just after 7 and attacked the bike hard. I had gotten it in my head that not only did 45 miles sound like a good idea, but let’s make that 45 at race pace. Brilliant! What could go wrong with this idea? The first 20+ blew by pretty effortlessly and I was able to hold an average pace of 16.5mph. Feeling quite pleased with myself I stopped for a quick bite at mile 23 and started the ride back.

As soon as I turned around I realized the folly of my plan. The legs started to feel like jello and I quickly reached the point where I was cursing Crazy for her infinite wisdom. The next 8 miles were pretty rough with the exception of a nice long downhill that helped pull me out of the fun.

Coming up on 30 miles into the ride, I ran into a few cyclists I know and Team in Training. They were finishing up their first training ride ย for an October century. I decided to tag along with the group for a few miles, relax, draft and chit chat. While we were riding, I started asking about the event they are training for. Enter Crazy again. By the time we pulled into the parking lot a measly 3-4 miles later I had all but signed up to train for the century ride.

How was your weekend?

Do you have a little spark of crazy?

6 thoughts on “A little spark of Crazy

  1. Wow! That’s great ๐Ÿ˜€ I do have a little spark of crazy, but I try and tame her. I usually don’t make too many decisions without thinking them through, although I did buy a pair of ProCompression socks today just because they are red, white, and blue. I’m not even running a race on the 4th, but I wanted them. Oops!

  2. Century rides are lots of fun! I love them because they are not a race and you can actually enjoy the event that you are doing without the pressure of crossing the finish line in a certain time. Although my “crazy” always has a hard time with that part ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: I think I’m going to puke | wornout soles

Leave a Reply

